Ready for Virtual Tupac?

While reading the Wall Street Journal this morning, I came across this kind of creepy in an I’m-not-ready-for-this kind of way article by Ethan Smith about a “holographic” Tupac Shakur. The work was created by Digital Domain Productions, a digital production company founded in 1993 by James Cameron and two business partners.

Um…whoa.

I don’t know how I feel about this yet. On one hand, I’m a fiend for innovation. I also live for creative and highly orchestrated feats. “Virtual Tupac” is all of these.

Just look at this diagram from wsj.com.

Image

And think of all the amazing projects we could create with this technology (that’s been around since the 1800s)!! Duh moment complete.

On the other hand, I’m the girl that avoids the Harold Washington animatronic exhibit at the DuSable Museum for African American History in Chicago. Who is next? Michael Jackson, Jimi Hendrix? Is there an issue with having a concert featuring a great artist posthumously? What do you think? Who would you go see?

Watch the video of the Coachella concert featuring the “holographic” Tupac at one of my favorite sources for art news WSJ Speakeasy.

One response to “Ready for Virtual Tupac?

  1. First of all, this is kind of creepy. I mean, going to a concert of an artist who has already been born into eternity is like going to see a ghost in reality. I LOVE IT!!!!!! Not just because I am an Engineering student who is obsessed with Technology, just to get the experience and true power of an artist’s talent even when they are not here to perform it for everyone to see. This is just proof that their legacy lives and will continue to strive for generations to come.

Thoughts? Comments? Talk to me...

