Dr. Mazloomi’s Lecture

“We are different, but we are all bound by thread.” – Dr. Mazloomi, 4/27/12

YAY! I got to meet Dr. Mazloomi during her exhibit talk at DuSable! I also got her new book. I also had the opportunity to meet with two of DuSable’s fabulous directors/programmers (more later)!!!!!!

Dr. Mazloomi’s lecture was great. I told her about the Quilted Journey blog and she said, “Neat.” LOL! Well, this blog is the beginning of a quilt of course. I want to start an actual cloth and thread quilt but what she said about the power of words during her lecture double confirmed for me that any way I tell a story, and any time I use my mouth or my pen, I’m still quilting. She said,

“A lot of quilts are about women. Women are influential, teachers, and give birth. We don’t start war with bombs and bullets, we are much more powerful. We use the sword of the tongue.”

Thoughts? Comments? Talk to me...

