QJ Weekend Event Spotlight: Chicago Museums 4/27 to 4/29

I’m in the thick of completing a theoretical exhibit and grant seeking strategy plan for my Intro to Museum Studies course (which I looove). The proposal is for the DuSable Museum of African American History. As I was thinking I should step away from my gargantuan undertaking and refill my cup of inspiration by  visiting DuSable (and a littlel museum hopping), I take a look at my calendar. BAM! Dr. Carolyn Mazloomi is going to be at DuSable speaking about her quilt exhibit! Needless to say, I’m going. The lady is an African American historian and quilt expert. This event. Was curated. For. Me. If you’re in Chicago, join me on my fantastic museum voyage this weekend. Check out the events I’m going to.

DuSable Museum

Curious to learn more about the name “Quilted Journey”? Are you in Chicago and love the museum scene? If you answered yes to all of these, be sure to check out the “Journey of Hope” gallery talk and book signing featuring Dr. Carolyn Mazloomi, author and exhibit creator of Journey of Hope: Quilts Inspired by President Barack Obama. The FREE event will be held tonight, 4/27, 6:30pm – 8:30pm at DuSable Museum of African American History. Learn about the art and history behind quilting from the authority on quilting! Perfection.

Image

Morton Arboretum

Don’t forget, this week is National Park Week. Ask any National Park in the US how to take advantage of free admission to the country’s beloved spaces. Check out the Morton Arboretum in Lisle, IL for the Arbor Day events. You can look forward to planting trees, buying plants and riding around on a bike for hours with your family.

Museum of Contemporary Art

I’m intrigued by art that works as a lens for politics. I have an inkling that the exhibit This Will Have Been: Art, Love & Politics in the 1980s will feed my affinity. On 4/28, I’m going to view the exhibit and a special performance, Armitage Gone! Dance Drastic-Classicism, GAGA-Gaku, and The Watteau Duets choreographed by Karole Armitage. I can’t wait.

2 responses to “QJ Weekend Event Spotlight: Chicago Museums 4/27 to 4/29

  1. Pingback: Dr. Mazloomi’s Lecture « Gabrielle Angelica·

  2. Pingback: Dr. Mazloomi’s Lecture « Quilted Journey·

Thoughts? Comments? Talk to me...